Homemade Playdough!

I’m sure a lot of mom’s out there have made or tried Homemade playdough. I was a pre-school teacher for about 5 years, and I use to make this every two weeks. I would make two batches, in two separate colors, and the kids really loved it! We just had so much fun making it today, I had to share!!

These are the ingredients you need…

3 cups of flour
1.5 cups of salt
3 tablespoons of oil
3 cups water
6 teaspoons of cream of tarter
food coloring of your choice

Extract (optional)
While the water was getting warm, I added the oil and in a separate bowl, mixed all of the dry ingredients together. You do not have to boil the water, it just needs to be warm. 

Mix all of the dry ingredients in a separate bowl (it is easier then adding things into the pot as you go, but you can absolutely do that too!!)
You have to consistently stir it for about 5-6 minutes before it comes to this texture. You may even need to leave it in a bit longer just rotating it before taking it out and letting it cool! 
The finished product!! We mixed red and blue food coloring and surprisingly it made this nice purple color!! I also added a little mint extract for fun!! 
My happy camper!! 
This recipe is so easy and makes a lot of playdough! It usually lasts around 2 weeks, and then will start getting a weird consistency. I hope you enjoy!! 

Leave a Reply

