Formula Feeding Vs. Breastfeeding

Hello! I am joining Kaitlyn over at Wifessionals for her weekly link up, Preparing For A Little One. This week is breastfeeding vs. formula. This topic is and always will be controversial, and this is my take on it. 

When You find out your pregnant, and after the news sets in, the first thing on your mind is “Do I breastfeed or use Formula?” I would like to start out by saying I am not in any way opposed to breastfeeding. I think its absolutely a wonderful way to bond with your baby, and for he or she to get the nutrients they need. I actually considered it, but after much thought and speaking with my doctors and husband, decided it wasn’t for me. I am also in no way judgemental towards people that choose one way or the other.

Why did I choose formula? I thought long as hard about how to answer this. The easy way out was saying that I did not want the “hassle” of breastfeeding, but I don’t think it is a “hassle.” I actually think its a beautiful thing. I also have heard some woman say “Its the easy way out.” I personally do not think this is fair to say, because some people can’t breastfeed as much as they want to and as much as they try to.

I do not think breastfeeding is for everyone, and I chose to Formula feed because I, personally was not comfortable breast feeding. I wanted my husband, my mother and the rest of my family to be able to enjoy feeding her as much as I did. I do not think I bonded with her any less than someone who breastfeeds their child. According to the AAP (American Association of Pediatrics) bottle feeding causes a lack of antibodies. Yes, there are antibodies in breast milk that are not in formula, but that does not mean formula does not have added protection. Molly has never has a serious illness, and she is very healthy and intelligent.

YOU are the one giving birth, and feeding your child. Do not make anyone feel like just because you are bottle feeding you are doing something wrong as a parent. YOU do what you feel is best for your situation. 
Leave a Reply

