The Mama Memoirs

I truly love this link up! Such a wonderful way to gain advice and read other people’s stories!! Today, I have a question, that is: When do you take your child out of the situation?

Our situation is being play groups, library programs, etc. Molly is only two and a half, and since last November I took her every Wednesday to Mommy and Me. In the beginning it was only her and two other little boys, but as the year progressed more children started attending. As more children starting attending she starting getting more shy, and clingy. I just thought she would get over it. Mommy and me ended a few weeks ago, and we have been busy so I haven’t had a chance to have play dates (other then with her cousin Lila.)

Yesterday, I took her to the library program, with a friend of mine. She was more shy then usual, and I didn’t think much of it assuming she’d warm up, but when we got downstairs to where the program is held, she freaked out. She grabbed on tight to me and kept saying “Wanna go home Mommy.” I continued to ignore her, and show her things to play with (a climbing toy with a tunnel, and a kitchen set) but she wanted nothing to do with it. I let her whining go on for about 15 minutes, and then gave in a left.

My question is, Will she continue doing this because I left the situation? 

I know she is still young, and she actually still has a whole year of Mommy and Me (she turns three in January and doesn’t make the Pre-school cut off date.) I feel kind of silly asking this question. I was a pre-school teacher for 4 years, and worked at the same daycare as an assistant teacher for another 4 years before that. In a teachers aspect, I probably would have gotten a little annoyed with a parent that did this. As a mother…I felt like Iwas torturing her. I always compare things to when I was a teacher, but NOW as a mom, I totally understand why these parents did some things they did…because being a mom is a totally different ball game!

I just don’t want her to have social issues, and I don’t want her to think I will always take her out of the situation. Am I totally overreacting? 

One thought on “The Mama Memoirs

  1. Oh man, that's tough. My Husband and I were just having a conversation about this exact topic. It's hard to know where the line is between encouraging your child to adapt, and pushing it too far. I haven't quite figured it out yet. But I do know that it's good to put them out of their comfort zone every once in a while, and hopefully the more they get used to trying new things and going new places, the more comfortable they will feel as they get older. Sorry, I wasn't much help. lol. But thank you so much for linking up this week!

Leave a Reply

